The Economic Science Association is organizing a seminar series featuring junior job-market candidates in economics who use experimental methods. The virtual seminar series will run from October to December 2020 with sessions occuring at three different times to accomodate audiences around the world. Each sessions consists of two to three speakers, each speaking for 20 minutes, followed by a discussant.

Sessions are held via Zoom. Click here to sign up to receive calendar invitaions with the links to join.

The scheduled speakers and discussants are listed below.

This week's talks

Monday 30th of November from 1:00 pm to 2:00 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 4:00 am (Los Angeles), 6:00 am (Chicago), 7:00 am (New York), 12:00 pm (London), 4:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 8:00 pm (Beijing), 11:00 pm (Sydney)
Effects of interventions to change last-moment submitting behaviour by Xiao Yu (Erasmus University Rotterdam) Go to website
Discussant: Maria De Paola
The Debt Payment Puzzle: An Experimental Investigation by Hakan Ozyilmaz (UC Santa Barbara) Go to website
Discussant: Stefan Trautmann

Wednesday 2nd of December from 12:30 pm to 2:00 pm (New York)

Starting at: 9:30 am (Los Angeles), 11:30 am (Chicago), 5:30 pm (London), 6:30 pm (Amsterdam), 9:30 pm (Abu Dhabi), 1:30 am +1 day (Beijing), 4:30 am +1 day (Sydney)
To Join or not to Join: Coalition Formation in Public Good Games by Sakshi Upadhyay (Virginia Tech) Go to website
Discussant: Tim Salmon
The effect of complexity in an electorate: experimental evidence by William Brown (Purdue University) Go to website
Discussant: Rick Wilson
Escaping secular stagnation with unconventional monetary policy by Ryan Rholes (Texas A&M) Go to website
Discussant: Daniela Puzzello

Forthcoming talks

Monday 7th of December from 1:00 pm to 2:30 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 4:00 am (Los Angeles), 6:00 am (Chicago), 7:00 am (New York), 12:00 pm (London), 4:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 8:00 pm (Beijing), 11:00 pm (Sydney)
Statistical Role Models by Lenka Fiala (Tilburg University) Go to website
Discussant: Anna Dreber
Experiments on Online Labor Markets: The role of Task heterogeneity on productivity by Evangelos Mourelatos (University of Patras) Go to website
Discussant: Fabian Kosse
Paid and hypothetical time preferences are the same: Lab, field and online evidence by Diego Jorrat (Universidad Loyola Andalucía) Go to website
Discussant: TBA

Wednesday 9th of December from 12:30 pm to 2:00 pm (New York)

Starting at: 9:30 am (Los Angeles), 11:30 am (Chicago), 5:30 pm (London), 6:30 pm (Amsterdam), 9:30 pm (Abu Dhabi), 1:30 am +1 day (Beijing), 4:30 am +1 day (Sydney)
Dismissal Threats: Incentive Effects and Multidimensional Sorting by Michael Cooper (UC Santa Barbara) Go to website
Discussant: David Cooper
Gendered Beliefs and the Job Application Decision: Evidence from a Large-Scale Field and Lab Experiment by Kristine Koutout (Vanderbilt University) Go to website
Discussant: Yan Chen
Taking Turns in Continuous Time Battle of the Sexes by Shuchen Zhao (UC Santa Cruz) Go to website
Discussant: Todd Kaplan

Monday 14th of December from 1:00 pm to 2:00 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 4:00 am (Los Angeles), 6:00 am (Chicago), 7:00 am (New York), 12:00 pm (London), 4:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 8:00 pm (Beijing), 11:00 pm (Sydney)
Group identity and betrayal/decomposing trust by Maria Polipciuc (Maastricht University) Go to website
Discussant: Florian Zimmermann
Behavioral Welfare Analysis and Revealed Preference: Theory and Experimental Evidence by Daniele Caliari (Queen Mary University of London) Go to website
Discussant: Dirk Engelmann

Wednesday 16th of December from 12:30 pm to 2:00 pm (New York)

Starting at: 9:30 am (Los Angeles), 11:30 am (Chicago), 5:30 pm (London), 6:30 pm (Amsterdam), 9:30 pm (Abu Dhabi), 1:30 am +1 day (Beijing), 4:30 am +1 day (Sydney)
Patience Across the Payday Cycle by Holly Dykstra (Harvard Kennedy School) Go to website
Discussant: Stephanie Wang
Field Experiments in Health Economics: Privacy in Mental Wellness Apps by Ellis Magee (Florida State University) Go to website
Discussant: Heather Royer
Group Accountability and Tax Evasion by Seiyoun Kim (Georgia State University) Go to website
Discussant: Neslihan Uler

Past talks

Wednesday 7th of October from 12:30 pm to 2:00 pm (New York)

Starting at: 9:30 am (Los Angeles), 11:30 am (Chicago), 5:30 pm (London), 6:30 pm (Amsterdam), 8:30 pm (Abu Dhabi), 12:30 am +1 day (Beijing), 3:30 am +1 day (Sydney)
Does Minority Status Drive Women out of Male-Dominated Fields? by Xiaoyue Shan (University of Zurich) Go to website
Discussant: Olga Stoddard
Can Prosocial Incentives within a Goal-Setting Scheme Motivate Workers? by Yuxin Su (Claremont Graduate University) Go to website
Discussant: Sebastian Goerg
Mission Motivation and Public Sector Performance: Experimental Evidence from Pakistan by Muhammad Yasir Khan (UC Berkeley) Go to website
Discussant: Sheheryar Banuri

Monday 12th of October from 1:00 pm to 2:00 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 4:00 am (Los Angeles), 6:00 am (Chicago), 7:00 am (New York), 12:00 pm (London), 3:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 7:00 pm (Beijing), 10:00 pm (Sydney)
Reference-dependent choice bracketing by Pauline Vorjohann (Humboldt University of Berlin) Go to website
Discussant: Alexander Koch
Why High Incentives Cause Repugnance by Robert Stüber (WZB Berlin) Go to website
Discussant: Sandro Ambühl

Wednesday 14th of October from 12:30 pm to 2:00 pm (New York)

Starting at: 9:30 am (Los Angeles), 11:30 am (Chicago), 5:30 pm (London), 6:30 pm (Amsterdam), 8:30 pm (Abu Dhabi), 12:30 am +1 day (Beijing), 3:30 am +1 day (Sydney)
Expecting to get it: An endowment effect for information by Tabaré Capitán (University of Wyoming) Go to website
Discussant: Keith Ericson
Strategic Experimentation with Uniform Bandit: An Experimental Study by OSub Kwon (Ohio State University) Go to website
Discussant: Emanuel Vespa
Arousal modulates dynamic decision parameters of attention in risky choice by Abdelaziz Alsharawy (Virginia Tech) Go to website
Discussant: Ian Krajbich

Monday 19th of October from 1:00 pm to 2:00 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 4:00 am (Los Angeles), 6:00 am (Chicago), 7:00 am (New York), 12:00 pm (London), 3:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 7:00 pm (Beijing), 10:00 pm (Sydney)
Do role models increase student hope and effort? Evidence from India by Prateek Chandra Bhan (University of Glasgow) Go to website
Discussant: Patricio Dalton
Committee Quotas and Gender Gap in Recruitment: A Laboratory Experiment by José J. Domínguez (University of Bologna) Go to website
Discussant: Arthur Schram

Wednesday 21st of October from 12:30 pm to 2:00 pm (New York)

Starting at: 9:30 am (Los Angeles), 11:30 am (Chicago), 5:30 pm (London), 6:30 pm (Amsterdam), 8:30 pm (Abu Dhabi), 12:30 am +1 day (Beijing), 3:30 am +1 day (Sydney)
Trading by Professional Traders: An Experiment by Ryan Kendall (University College London) Go to website
Discussant: Dan Friedman
The Burden of Holding Debt by Alejandro Martínez-Marquina (Stanford University) Go to website
Discussant: Stephan Meier
A Dynamic Matching Mechanism for College Admissions: Theory and Experiment by Yingzhi Liang (University of Michigan) Go to website
Discussant: ‪Dorothea Kübler‬

Monday 26th of October from 1:00 pm to 2:00 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 5:00 am (Los Angeles), 7:00 am (Chicago), 8:00 am (New York), 12:00 pm (London), 4:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 8:00 pm (Beijing), 11:00 pm (Sydney)
Dynamic Incentives to Invest in an Advanced Abatement Technology: An Experimental Investigation of the Effect of Commitment Timing to an Environmental Policy by Lidia Vidal-Meliá (Universitat Jaume I) Go to website
Discussant: Hans-Theo Normann
Follow the money, not the majority: Incentivizing and aggregating expert opinions with Bayesian markets by Tong Wang (Erasmus University Rotterdam) Go to website
Discussant: Aniol Llorente-Saguer

Wednesday 28th of October from 12:30 pm to 2:00 pm (New York)

Starting at: 9:30 am (Los Angeles), 11:30 am (Chicago), 4:30 pm (London), 5:30 pm (Amsterdam), 8:30 pm (Abu Dhabi), 12:30 am +1 day (Beijing), 3:30 am +1 day (Sydney)
Examining Donor Preferences for Charity Religious Affiliation by Jonathan Oxley (Florida State University) Go to website
Discussant: Alex Brown
Can we talk our way to efficiency? by Prithvijit Mukherjee (Utah State University) Go to website
Discussant: Gary Charness
Choice Overload and Charitable Giving: Can There Be Too Much of a Good Thing? by Jessica White (University of Arkansas)
Discussant: Johanna Mollerstrom

Monday 2nd of November from 1:00 pm to 2:30 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 4:00 am (Los Angeles), 6:00 am (Chicago), 7:00 am (New York), 12:00 pm (London), 4:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 8:00 pm (Beijing), 11:00 pm (Sydney)
Information Avoidance and Self-Interest in Markets, Dictatorship, and Democracy by Katharina Momsen (University of Innsbruck) Go to website
Discussant: Roel van Veldhuizen
Choice Architecture and Transparency by Essi Kujansuu (European University Institute) Go to website
Discussant: Ayala Arad
Information Avoidance and Moral Behavior: Experimental Evidence from Food Choices by Raphael Epperson (University of Mannheim) Go to website
Discussant: Nora Szech

Wednesday 4th of November from 12:30 pm to 2:00 pm (New York)

Starting at: 9:30 am (Los Angeles), 11:30 am (Chicago), 5:30 pm (London), 6:30 pm (Amsterdam), 9:30 pm (Abu Dhabi), 1:30 am +1 day (Beijing), 4:30 am +1 day (Sydney)
Well, At Least I Tried: Partial Willful Ignorance, Information Acquisition, and Social Preferences by J. Braxton Gately (University of Arkansas) Go to website
Discussant: Zack Grossman
Self-Deception: Adopting False Beliefs for a Favorable Self-View by Zeeshan Samad (Vanderbilt University) Go to website
Discussant: Collin Raymond
Lying Aversion and Vague Communication: An Experimental Study by Keh-Kuan Sun (Washington University in St. Louis) Go to website
Discussant: Marta Serra Garcia

Monday 9th of November from 1:00 pm to 2:30 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 4:00 am (Los Angeles), 6:00 am (Chicago), 7:00 am (New York), 12:00 pm (London), 4:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 8:00 pm (Beijing), 11:00 pm (Sydney)
Face Mask Use and Physical Distancing before and after Mandatory Masking: Evidence from Public Waiting Lines by Gyula Seres (Humboldt University Berlin) Go to website
Discussant: Erik Wengström
Information and Strategic Avoidance in Reciprocal Decisions by F. Ceren Ay (Norwegian School of Economics) Go to website
Discussant: Marco Piovesan
Probability Biases in Repeated Prisoner's Dilemma Game by Atiyeh Yeganloo (University of Manchester) Go to website
Discussant: Andrea Isoni

Wednesday 11th of November from 12:30 pm to 2:00 pm (New York)

Starting at: 9:30 am (Los Angeles), 11:30 am (Chicago), 5:30 pm (London), 6:30 pm (Amsterdam), 9:30 pm (Abu Dhabi), 1:30 am +1 day (Beijing), 4:30 am +1 day (Sydney)
Standard vs random dictator games. The effect of role uncertainty on generosity by Ernesto Mesa Vazquez (University of Valencia) Go to website
Discussant: PJ Healy
Endogenous Institutions: A network experiment in Nepal by Juni Singh (Paris School of Economics) Go to website
Discussant: Alessandra Cassar
Temptation: Immediacy and Certainty by Lucas Reddinger (UC Santa Barbara) Go to website
Discussant: David Freeman

Friday 13th of November from 9:00 am to 10:30 am (Sydney)

Starting at: 2:00 pm -1 day (Los Angeles), 4:00 pm -1 day (Chicago), 5:00 pm -1 day (New York), 10:00 pm -1 day (London), 11:00 pm -1 day (Amsterdam), 2:00 am (Abu Dhabi), 6:00 am (Beijing)
Asset Pricing with Ambiguous Signals: An Experiment by Jiahua Zhu (Nanyang Technological University) Go to website
Discussant: Lionel Page
Deterrence Using Peer Information by Zhengyang (Leo) Bao (Monash University) Go to website
Discussant: Abhi Ramalingam
Present bias for monetary and dietary rewards: Evidence from Chinese teenagers by Xueting Wang (The University of Sydney) Go to website
Discussant: Anya Samek

Monday 16th of November from 1:00 pm to 2:30 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 4:00 am (Los Angeles), 6:00 am (Chicago), 7:00 am (New York), 12:00 pm (London), 4:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 8:00 pm (Beijing), 11:00 pm (Sydney)
Endogenous gender segregation by Vegard Sjurseike Wiborg (University of Oslo) Go to website
Discussant: Loukas Balafoutas
The Effect of Unfair Chances and Gender Discrimination on Labor Supply by Nickolas Gagnon (WU Wien) Go to website
Discussant: Alexander Cappelen
The Effects of Group Identity on Interaction Preferences and Coordination Efficiency by Adrià Bronchal (ESADE Business School) Go to website
Discussant: Natalia Jimenez Jimenez

Wednesday 18th of November from 12:30 pm to 2:00 pm (New York)

Starting at: 9:30 am (Los Angeles), 11:30 am (Chicago), 5:30 pm (London), 6:30 pm (Amsterdam), 9:30 pm (Abu Dhabi), 1:30 am +1 day (Beijing), 4:30 am +1 day (Sydney)
The Common-Probability Auction Puzzle by Kathleen Ngangoue (New York University) Go to website
Discussant: Erkut Ozbay
Individual and Collective Information Acquisition: An Experimental Study by Pellumb Reshidi (Princeton University) Go to website
Discussant: Tim Cason
Behavioral Bandits: Analyzing the Exploration Versus Exploitation Trade-off in the Lab by Daniel Woods (Purdue University) Go to website
Discussant: Alistair Wilson

Monday 23rd of November from 1:00 pm to 2:30 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 4:00 am (Los Angeles), 6:00 am (Chicago), 7:00 am (New York), 12:00 pm (London), 4:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 8:00 pm (Beijing), 11:00 pm (Sydney)
Liquidity Constraints and Buffer Stock Savings: Theory and Experimental Evidence by Andreas Orland (University of Potsdam) Go to website
Discussant: John Hey
The Bright Side of Tax Evasion by Cornelius Schneider (University of Cologne) Go to website
Discussant: Rupert Sausgruber
It does (not) get better: expected income violation and altruism by Rémi Suchon (Université Libre de Bruxelles) Go to website
Discussant: Arno Riedl

Organization

The series is organised by David Cooper, Dorothea Kübler, Sherry Li, Ernesto Reuben, and Jingjing Zhang.

If you have any queries, please contact any of the organisers.