Due to the COVID19 global pandemic, the Economic Science Association organized a seminar series featuring junior job-market candidates in economics who use experimental methods. The virtual seminar series ran from October to December 2021 with sessions occuring at three different times to accomodate audiences around the world. Each sessions consisted of two to three speakers, each speaking for 20 minutes, followed by a discussant.

The scheduled speakers and discussants are listed below.

2021 Talks

Wednesday 20th of October from 3:00 pm to 4:30 pm (New York)

Starting at: 12:00 pm (Los Angeles), 2:00 pm (Chicago), 8:00 pm (London), 9:00 pm (Amsterdam), 11:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 3:00 am +1 day (Beijing), 6:00 am +1 day (Sydney)
How much do our neighbors really know?: The limits of community-based targeting by Carly Trachtman (UC Berkeley) Go to website
Discussant: Alessandra Cassar
Do multiple contacts matter? by Mouli Modak (Purdue University) Go to website
Discussant: Emanuel Vespa
The impact of negative links: Theory and evidence by Xiannong Zhang (Washington University in St. Louis) Go to website
Discussant: Sudipta Sarangi

Thursday 21st of October from 2:00 pm to 3:30 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 5:00 am (Los Angeles), 7:00 am (Chicago), 8:00 am (New York), 1:00 pm (London), 4:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 8:00 pm (Beijing), 11:00 pm (Sydney)
Intergenerational sustainability is enhanced by taking the perspective of future generations by Mostafa E. Shahen (Kochi University of Technology) Go to website
Discussant: Sigrid Suetens
Extracting the collective wisdom of experts in probabilistic judgments by Cem Peker (Erasmus University Rotterdam) Go to website
Discussant: Joerg Oechssler
Times are changing: Projective misperceptions and misinferred time preferences by Sili Zhang (University of Zurich) Go to website
Discussant: Stefan Trautmann

Monday 25th of October from 3:00 pm to 4:30 pm (New York)

Starting at: 12:00 pm (Los Angeles), 2:00 pm (Chicago), 8:00 pm (London), 9:00 pm (Amsterdam), 11:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 3:00 am +1 day (Beijing), 6:00 am +1 day (Sydney)
An Exploratory Analysis of the Multi-Armed Bandit Problem by Stanton Hudja (Baylor University) Go to website
Discussant: Nicolas Klein
The Role of Subjective Effort Cost in Outcome Bias by Robizon Khubulashvili (University of Pittsburgh) Go to website
Discussant: Mike Kuhn
Reversing Changes in Producers' Risk Attitudes by Paul J Feldman (Johns Hopkins University) Go to website
Discussant: Joshua Tasoff

Wednesday 3rd of November from 3:00 pm to 4:30 pm (New York)

Starting at: 12:00 pm (Los Angeles), 2:00 pm (Chicago), 7:00 pm (London), 8:00 pm (Amsterdam), 11:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 3:00 am +1 day (Beijing), 6:00 am +1 day (Sydney)
Voicing disagreement in science: Missing women by David Klinowski Gomez (Stanford University) Go to website
Discussant: Nagore Iriberri
Don't tell anyone I lost to a girl! Gender stereotypes and hiding low performance by Shuya He (University of Arizona) Go to website
Discussant: Ernesto Reuben
Perceptions, Information Interventions and High-School Graduation: Experimental Evidence from Argentina by Carolina Lopez (Brown University)
Discussant: Mariana Blanco

Thursday 4th of November from 2:00 pm to 3:30 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 6:00 am (Los Angeles), 8:00 am (Chicago), 9:00 am (New York), 1:00 pm (London), 5:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 9:00 pm (Beijing), 12:00 am +1 day (Sydney)
Improving Trust between the Police and the Youth by Gwen-Jiro Clochard (CREST - Ecole Polytechnique) Go to website
Discussant: Alexandra Scacco
Improving State Capacity to Target Extreme Poverty: An Evaluation of a Randomized Intervention in Bangladesh by Viola Asri (University of Konstanz) Go to website
Discussant: Pieter Serneels
Assessment of Minorities' Skills Using Low-Stakes Tests - Evidence from PISA and a Field Experiment by Yuval Ofek-Shanny (FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg) Go to website
Discussant: Philipp Lergetporer

Wednesday 10th of November from 3:00 pm to 4:30 pm (New York)

Starting at: 12:00 pm (Los Angeles), 2:00 pm (Chicago), 8:00 pm (London), 9:00 pm (Amsterdam), 12:00 am +1 day (Abu Dhabi), 4:00 am +1 day (Beijing), 7:00 am +1 day (Sydney)
Dynamic Coordination with Switching Costs by Joe Ballard (Florida State University) Go to website
Discussant: Alistair Wilson
Resource sharing on endogenous networks by Philip Solimine (Florida State University) Go to website
Discussant: Luca Merlino
How does the network structure affect connection-specific choices? An experiment on the competitive allocation of resources in weighted networks by Sebastian Cortes Corrales (Chapman University) Go to website
Discussant: Nathaniel Neligh

Thursday 11th of November from 2:00 pm to 3:30 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 5:00 am (Los Angeles), 7:00 am (Chicago), 8:00 am (New York), 1:00 pm (London), 5:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 9:00 pm (Beijing), 12:00 am +1 day (Sydney)
Women Dislike Competing Against Men by Diogo Geraldes (Utrecht School of Economics) Go to website
Discussant: Nikos Nikiforakis
Gender Differences in the Cost of Corrections in Group Work by Yuki Takahashi (University of Bologna) Go to website
Discussant: Seda Ertac
Intelligence Disclosure in Repeated Interactions by Andis Sofianos (University of Heidelberg) Go to website
Discussant: Robert Sugden

Wednesday 17th of November from 3:00 pm to 4:30 pm (New York)

Starting at: 12:00 pm (Los Angeles), 2:00 pm (Chicago), 8:00 pm (London), 9:00 pm (Amsterdam), 12:00 am +1 day (Abu Dhabi), 4:00 am +1 day (Beijing), 7:00 am +1 day (Sydney)
Fair Shares and Selective Attention by Davide Pace (University of Amsterdam) Go to website
Discussant: Ian Krajbich
The Supply of Motivated Beliefs by Michael Thaler (Princeton University) Go to website
Discussant: Sevgi Yuksel
Habitual communication by Konstantinos Ioannidis (University of Amsterdam) Go to website
Discussant: Ernesto Reuben

Thursday 18th of November from 2:00 pm to 3:30 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 5:00 am (Los Angeles), 7:00 am (Chicago), 8:00 am (New York), 1:00 pm (London), 5:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 9:00 pm (Beijing), 12:00 am +1 day (Sydney)
Impact of lying aversion and prosociality on cheating by Daniel Parra (WZB Berlin Social Science Center) Go to website
Discussant: Johannes Abeler
Motivated Risk Assessments by Marco Islam (Lund University) Go to website
Discussant: Frederik Schwerter
Willful Ignorance and Reference Dependence of Self-Image Concerns by Vasilisa Petrishcheva (University of Dusseldorf) Go to website
Discussant: Joel van der Weele

Friday 19th of November from 12:00 pm to 2:00 pm (Sydney)

Starting at: 5:00 pm -1 day (Los Angeles), 7:00 pm -1 day (Chicago), 8:00 pm -1 day (New York), 1:00 am (London), 2:00 am (Amsterdam), 5:00 am (Abu Dhabi), 9:00 am (Beijing)
Size vs. strength: A study on cultural integration by Ankush Asri (University of Konstanz) Go to website
Discussant: Lata Gangadharan
Patience is power: Bargaining and payoff delay by Jeongbin Kim (National University of Singapore) Go to website
Discussant: Emanuel Vespa
Heterogeneity and Consistency of Individual Response to Social Information by Yiting Chen (National University of Singapore) Go to website
Discussant: Erte Xiao
How Parents' Beliefs in Their Children's Academic Ability Affect Their Investments in Children's Education? by Tianqi Gan (University of Maryland) Go to website
Discussant: Adeline Delavande

Thursday 25th of November from 2:00 pm to 3:30 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 5:00 am (Los Angeles), 7:00 am (Chicago), 8:00 am (New York), 1:00 pm (London), 5:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 9:00 pm (Beijing), 12:00 am +1 day (Sydney)
Biased beliefs and trust in government: Evidence from the United States by Christian Zihlman (University of Fribourg) Go to website
Discussant: Lydia Mechtenberg
The Cost of Social Division by Manu Munoz (NYU Abu Dhabi) Go to website
Discussant: Roberto Weber
An Experimental Study on the Role of Social Norms in Tax Compliance by Zia Ul Hassan Khan (University of Essex) Go to website
Discussant: Miguel Fonseca

Wednesday 1st of December from 3:00 pm to 4:30 pm (New York)

Starting at: 12:00 pm (Los Angeles), 2:00 pm (Chicago), 8:00 pm (London), 9:00 pm (Amsterdam), 12:00 am +1 day (Abu Dhabi), 4:00 am +1 day (Beijing), 7:00 am +1 day (Sydney)
Who plays nice? A surprising meta-meta analysis of 1259 experimental studies by Esha Dwibedi (Virginia Tech) Go to website
Discussant: Luke Coffman
Understanding and Improving Policymakers' Sensitivity to Program Impact by Mattie Toma (Harvard University) Go to website
Discussant: Clayton Featherstone
Compensation without Distortion: Stochastic Termination and Incentive Compatibility in Preference Elicitation by Andrew Copland (Boston College) Go to website
Discussant: Greg Leo

Thursday 2nd of December from 2:00 pm to 3:30 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 5:00 am (Los Angeles), 7:00 am (Chicago), 8:00 am (New York), 1:00 pm (London), 5:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 9:00 pm (Beijing), 12:00 am +1 day (Sydney)
Probabilistic Incentives in Labour Contracts: An Experiment by Celia Blanco Jimenez (London School of Economics) Go to website
Discussant: Arthur Schram
I deserve more! When and why people avoid information about other people's work by Kajsa Hansson (Linkoping University) Go to website
Discussant: Dietmar Fehr
Motivating low performers with input-based relative performance feedback: Evidence from a field experiment by Rainer Michael Rilke (WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management) Go to website
Discussant: Angela Sutan

Wednesday 8th of December from 3:00 pm to 4:30 pm (New York)

Starting at: 12:00 pm (Los Angeles), 2:00 pm (Chicago), 8:00 pm (London), 9:00 pm (Amsterdam), 12:00 am +1 day (Abu Dhabi), 4:00 am +1 day (Beijing), 7:00 am +1 day (Sydney)
Lie O'clock: Experimental Evidence on Intertemporal Lying Preferences by Georgia Michailidou (NYU Abu Dhabi) Go to website
Discussant: Agne Kajackaite
The Gift of Giving: The Consequences of Recognizing Donors and Revealing Donation Amounts by K. Pun Winichakul (University of Pittsburgh) Go to website
Discussant: PJ Healy
Predictable Effects Of Bottom-up Visual Salience in Experimental Games by Xiaomin Li (California Institute of Technology) Go to website
Discussant: Giorgio Coricelli

Thursday 9th of December from 2:00 pm to 3:30 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 5:00 am (Los Angeles), 7:00 am (Chicago), 8:00 am (New York), 1:00 pm (London), 5:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 9:00 pm (Beijing), 12:00 am +1 day (Sydney)
Fear and Economic Behavior by Lina Andersson (Gothenburg University) Go to website
Discussant: Topi Miettinen
Digital Text Message Reminders, Actions, Channels, and Minorities by Maya Haran Rosen (Hebrew University of Jerusalem) Go to website
Discussant: Steffen Altmann
Nudging the Pharmacist to Combat the Non-Prescription Sales of Antibiotics: Evidence from a Field Experiment in Ethiopia by Saba Yifredew Getnet (University of Verona) Go to website
Discussant: Christina Gravert

Wednesday 15th of December from 3:00 pm to 4:30 pm (New York)

Starting at: 12:00 pm (Los Angeles), 2:00 pm (Chicago), 8:00 pm (London), 9:00 pm (Amsterdam), 12:00 am +1 day (Abu Dhabi), 4:00 am +1 day (Beijing), 7:00 am +1 day (Sydney)
Persistence of Discrimination: Theory and experimental evidence by Nishtha Sharma (University of California Irvine) Go to website
Discussant: Alex Imas
Rational Self-Handicapping: An Experiment by Rachel Mannahan (University of Arizona) Go to website
Discussant: Erik Kimbrough
Who are we up against? Heterogeneous group contests with incomplete information by Vasudha Chopra (The University of Tenessee) Go to website
Discussant: Luke Boosey

Thursday 16th of December from 2:00 pm to 3:30 pm (Amsterdam)

Starting at: 5:00 am (Los Angeles), 7:00 am (Chicago), 8:00 am (New York), 1:00 pm (London), 5:00 pm (Abu Dhabi), 9:00 pm (Beijing), 12:00 am +1 day (Sydney)
Preference-biased social influence by Fabian Dvorak (University of Konstanz) Go to website
Discussant: Charles Efferson
Probability of Winning in Risky Choices by Vikas Chaudhary (University of Exeter) Go to website
Discussant: Francesco Fallucchi
Opening the Book: Price Information's Impact on Market Efficiency in the Lab by Brett Williams (UC Santa Cruz) Go to website
Discussant: Heinrich Nax

Organization

The series is organised by Dorothea Kübler, Daniele Nosenzo, Ernesto Reuben, Jingjing Zhang, P.J. Healy, and Mónica Capra.

A special thanks to the Center for Behavioral Institutional Design for logistical help.